Listen Live Z107.9 WENZ Cleveland


Z 107.9 Featured Video

The 2011 Soul Award nominations were announced earlier today with Chris Brown, Kelly Rowland and Beyonce leading the pack of nominees.

Kelly Rowland is still the “belle” of R&B as the starlet walked away with three 2011 Soul Train Award nominations. Miss “Lay It On Me” grabbed nods for Best Female R&B/Soul Artist, as well as Best Dance Performance and Song of the Year for “Motivation.”

Her former bandmate, Beyonce, nabbed “4” nods including Record of the Year with “Best Thing I Never Had” while also popping up in the Best Female R&B Soul Artist, Best Dance Performance and teh Album of the Year categories.

Chris Brown–who just sold out the Staples Center last night–leads the pack of male contenders garnering 5 nominations, including the top two fields, Album and Song of the Year.

 Newcomer Miguel grabbed up 3 nods, while Rihanna grabbed 2, plus another in collaboration with her big bros Jay-Z & Kanye West on “All of the Lights” for Best Hip Hop Song of the Year.

And Adele grabbed 3 nods and will be going up against Bey for Album of the Year.

Cedric The Entertainer will host the show on Centric and BET, Sunday, November 27 at 9pm/8c.

Here are the full list of nominees: Best New Artist Bruno Mars Marsha Ambrosius Miguel Frank Ocean

Best Male R&B/Soul Artist Trey Songz Chris Brown R. Kelly Miguel Cee Lo Green Eric Benet

Centric Award Ledisi Raphael Saddiq Bilal Anthony David Aloe Blacc

Best Caribbean Performance “Man Down” -Rihanna “Summer Time” -Vybz Kartel “Wotless” -Kes The Band “Bend Over” – Machel Montano “Delilah” –

Movado Best Gospel Performance “I Smile” – Kirk Franklin “Walking” – Mary Mary “Heaven Hear My Heart” – Trin-I-Tee 5:7 “I Believe” – James Fortune ft. Shawn McLemore “More” – Cece Winans

Album of the Year 21 – Adele F.A.M.E – Chris Brown 4 – Beyonce Passion Pain & Pleasure – Trey Songz Light of the Sun – Jill Scott Watch The Throne – Jay Z and Kanye West

Best Hip-Hop Song of the Year “Moment for Life” – Nicki Minaj “All of the Lights”- Kanye West ft. Rihanna “Look at Me Now” – Chris Brown feat. Busta Rhymes and Lil’ Wayne “Out of My Head” – Lupe Fiasco “Otis” – Jay Z and Kanye West

Best Female R&B/Soul Artist Kelly Rowland Beyonce Marsha Ambrosius Jennifer Hudson Jill Scott Mary J. Blige

Song of the Year “Motivation” – Kelly Rowland feat. Lil’ Wayne “Sure Thing”- Miguel “Rolling in the Deep” – Adele “She Ain’t You” – Chris Brown “All of the Lights” – Kanye West “So In Love” – Jill Scott ft. Anthony Hamilton

Record of the Year (The Ashford and Simpson Songwriter’s Award) “Rolling in the Deep” – Adele (Writers: Adele, Paul Epworth) “Far Away” – Marsha Ambrosius (Writers: Marsha Ambrosius, Sterling Simms) “Best Thing I Never Had” – Beyonce (Writers: Antonio Dixon; Kenneth Edmonds; Larry Griffin, Jr.; Beyoncé Knowles; Caleb McCampbell; Patrick Smith; Shea Taylor) “Good Man” – Raphael Saddiq (Writers: Raphael Saadiq, Taura Stinson) “Hold My Hand” (Duet with Akon) – Michael Jackson (Writers: Aliaune Thiam (Akon), Giorgio Tuinfort, Claude Kelly)

Best Dance Performance “Motivation” – Kelly Rowland “Only Girl in the World”/”What’s My Name” – Rihanna “Run The World” – Beyonce “She Ain’t You” – Chris Brown “Walking” – Mary Mary “Pretty Girl Rock” – Keri Hilson

2011 Soul Train Award Legend Award Recipients Gladys Knight & Earth Wind and Fire

Also On Z 107.9:
Bey Day: 13 Times Beyonce Slayed Us Effortlessly
13 photos